A Half Dozen – Happy Anniversary,Baby

You see us together...

You see us together…

Six years ago today, I got married for the second time.

I wanna live
With a cinnamon girl
I could be happy
The rest of my life
With a cinnamon girl.

Within minutes of my first date with The Cinnamon Girl, I knew I didn’t want it to end. 

Ever.

There were complexities. We were divorced. We were co-workers. We were parents. We weren’t looking to marry.

But, here’s the deal. I knew it then. I know it now.

The Cinnamon Girl is worth it.

Brilliant and beautiful, my wife is at once the smartest and funniest woman I know. There are few – women or men – with wits as quick as hers and  fewer still with knowledge coming anywhere close to what she possesses. She is insightful and analytic. She is passionate and bold. She is confident and unwavering.

Save for the fact that she married me, she’s about perfect.

She tells me I have “the crazy eyes” when I look at her.

Well, my eyes are not crazy and here is what they see:

A wonderful mother to the children we share

A devoted daughter.

A perfect partner.

A talented teacher.

A brilliant chef.

A soul mate for me in any and every way.

A woman of passion, of belief, of strength, of conviction.

I am always my best self with her because she brings out the best me possible.

I hope I do the same for her.

I know it’s possible to love someone every day more than the day before because I do.

I love you Cinnamon Girl.  We started this chapter later in our lives than many but writing these pages with you is the best part of what I do.

You see us together,
Chasing the moonlight,
My cinnamon girl.

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Romance

Leave a Reply

