My Father’s Birthday

Today, January 18, would have been my dad’s 72nd birthday.

We lost him too soon.

There are things that remind me of Dad everyday, items I know are going to make me think of him, items I’ve intentionally left like sign posts in my life: the Hole-in-One trophy that he won in the 80s sits on a bookshelf in my office, a picture of him as a senior in high school is framed on my wall, the mass card from his  is not only hung above my desk, but I have a handful in various spots and drawers.

There are things that come up almost daily, always unexpectedly: someone out-of-the-blue saysto me that I look like him, an email from a long ago gifted magazine subscription he liked reminds me it’s time to renew, I read a story about baseball and my first instinct is to call him.

That’s my favorite time to think about Dad – that moment when I almost reach for the phone to call him.

It reminds me he is always there for me, just like he always was.

Dad

Dad

3 Comments

Filed under Family, Fathers and Sons, Parents

3 responses to “My Father’s Birthday

  1. Pingback: My Dad And My Guitar | And There Came a Day...

  2. Pingback: Dad’s Birthday – 2016 | And There Came a Day...

  3. Pingback: He Called Me “My Man” | And There Came a Day...

Leave a Reply

