Mother’s Day Reflection

When I was growing up, in ways both simple and profound, my mother, The Mater, taught me what loyalty meant. She illustrated to me the definition of “unconditional” before I could spell the word. She showed me love.

Mom did her best to be interested in comic books and superheroes and, though they were never particularly fascinating to her, she would listen to me talk about them for hours. Science Fiction and Star Wars were a bit closer to her heart and she and I spent a lot of time watching those kinds of movies, even though my father professed to hate them. She packed the lunches (often, when I was heading on a field trip, wrapping a cool pop in aluminum foil to maintain the temperature – a scientist, The Mater is not, a caretaker, she most certainly is). She washed the clothes. She held my hand when I would come home crying after a break up. She taught me to value education.

Her lessons haven’t stopped now that I am an adult. She continues to love, to teach, to parent. I don’t know where she got the manual, but she must have read whatever fine print was listed in it where it says parenting doesn’t stop when the kids turn 18 or 21 or 44. It never stops.

I am who I am and I am how I am because of my mom.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom. And thank you. For everything.

Mom and me

1 Comment

Filed under Anecdote, Family, Parenting, Parents

One response to “Mother’s Day Reflection

  1. Pingback: Happy Day, Mom – Mother’s Day 2016 | And There Came a Day...

Leave a Reply

