Teachers Are Leaders Quote And Comment Of The Week: April 13 – April 19, 2015

Weekly during the 2014-2015 school year, And There Came A Day will begin the week with a quote and quick thought about Ignatian Education.

“The key to leadership is having people willing to follow you if only out curiosity to see what’s going to happen.”

~  Marc Anderson (Netscape Founder)

There is a lot to be said for leaders who are consistent and clear. There is much to be said for leaders who are steady and reliable. Those four qualities are certainly part of my personal definition of leadership and of outstanding teachers.

But I also want inspiration. I want teachers who are leaders to surprise me. I want them to defy expectation when appropriate and to stun me when they can. I want them to energize the school with their ability to inspire. I don’t think this is too much to ask of our leaders. I, frankly, think we often forget to expect this kind of thing from our leaders and that is a shame.

Teachers. Leaders. Surprise us. Inspire us. Shock us.

LEAD us.

Answer search

Leave a comment

Filed under Education, Ignatian Education, Jesuit Education, Teacher, Teacher Quote of the Week, Teaching

Leave a Reply

