You See Us Together, Chasing The Moonlight – Happy Anniversary, Cinnamon Girl

Sitting in the car, lying in bed or, most likely, during one of our walks, I frequently turn to you as the sun shines on your beautiful hair and ask “what are you thinking about?”

I bet you get tired of me asking you that.

The answer you give, as often as not, is related to something relatively mundane: the lesson you’re planning for your next class, what magic you’re thinking about working in the kitchen later in the evening, something one of our kids needs (they seem to never run out of needs). Sometimes, especially lately, you might be thinking about something deeper and more philosophical. We’ve certainly had cause to discuss big topics in recent weeks.

But, Baby, know that no matter what you’re thinking about, I want to know. I want to hear what you’re considering and listen to what you have to say.

I still want to know every thought you have.

I want to know everything about you.

In that, little has changed over the 8 years we’ve been married.

Wedding

8 years ago, as we stood in my parents’ backyard with a small gathering of our family and our friends, I knew that marrying you was the best decision I would ever make not because I knew everything about you – because I didn’t and I still don’t – but because, though I didn’t know everything, I knew some important things.

I knew that you were the best partner I would ever be able to find, and you are.

I knew that you took my breath away with your beauty, and you still do.

I knew that you made me laugh, and you still do.

I knew that you would be a wonderful parent to my children, and you are.

I knew that you were the most intelligent woman I’d ever spoken to and been challenged by, and you still are.

I knew that you were the love I’d been searching for, and you always will be.

Nothing lasts forever, Baby… except US.

I love you, Cinnamon Girl.

Happy Anniversary.

Leave a comment

Filed under Anniversary, Celebration, Family, The Cinnamon Girl

Leave a Reply

