And There Came Comfort And Fright – It’s Back-To-School Time!

I am sure there are better quotes about parenting than the one listed below. Certainly there are ones that are less crass. But, as I write this morning, I don’t know one that is more strangely comforting than this line from Ron Howard’s terrific movie Parenthood.

(Parenting) is just like Aunt Edna’s ass. It seems to go on forever and is just as frightening.

Because, in the span of a 10 day period, Sous Chef has started her senior year of high school, Stretch will have departed for his sophomore year of college and HJ jr is leaving, today, for his freshman year of college.

That’s enough to frighten anyone.

Do I want the kids to need The Cinnamon Girl and me for their entire lives?

No, I don’t.

But, deep down, do I need them to need us? That’s entirely possible.

Somehow, in some fundamental way, the idea that parenting goes on forever is very, very comforting.

2015-08-18 18.46.06

Sous Chef, Stretch and HJ jr celebrating the start of a new school year!

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Fathers and Daughters, Fathers and Sons, HJ jr, School, Sous Chef, Stretch, The Cinnamon Girl

5 responses to “And There Came Comfort And Fright – It’s Back-To-School Time!

  1. Pingback: She’s the Nicest Daughter I Ever Had, She’s the Meanest Daughter I Ever Had | And There Came a Day...

  2. Pingback: 19 Years … My God, That’s Almost 20! | And There Came a Day...

  3. Pingback: Off to College (3 in 5 Daze) Part I: Sous Chef | And There Came a Day...

  4. Pingback: Off to College (3 in 5 Daze) Part II: HJ jr | And There Came a Day...

  5. Pingback: Off to College (3 in 5 Daze) Part III: Stretch | And There Came a Day...

Leave a Reply

