The Mater Was Born On This Date – Happy Birthday Mom

Traveling in New York this weekend means The Cinnamon Girl and I won’t be home to celebrate The Mater’s birthday today. I know she knows that we wish her the happiest of birthdays and that we’re looking forward to seeing her when we get home.

I was thinking about her yesterday as The Cinnamon Girl and I were walking around Central Park and talking about all sorts of wonderful things from where to find a Starbucks so The Cinnamon Girl could have her first Pumpkin Spice Latte of the season to larger, broader topics like the presidential election (we had walked past Trump Tower [insert shiver here]).

One topic, believe it or not, was the unconditional love of God… The Cinnamon Girl mentioned that she was discussing this concept with a friend of hers from work and the friend said: “It would be hard for someone who had never experienced unconditional love from a parent or a husband or wife to really relate to the concept of unconditional love.”

So very true.

I have been blessed throughout my life with many, many things. Today I am most thankful for the blessing of a mother who taught me unconditional love. I cannot think of a time in my life when I didn’t experience unconditional love from my mother. It was her giving of that love which made understand what it meant to love others. I believe her example makes me a better father now, a better husband now, a better person now. My mother has been an incredible and indelible example to me throughout my life and I hope that I’ve also been able to share my unconditional love for her in ways real and tangible.

Happy birthday, Mom. I love you.

Mom and Me

Me and mom in Las Vegas earlier this month.

1 Comment

Filed under Birthday, Family, Mom, Mother, The Cinnamon Girl, The Mater

One response to “The Mater Was Born On This Date – Happy Birthday Mom

  1. Pingback: Happy Day, Mom – Mother’s Day 2016 | And There Came a Day...

Leave a Reply

