She’s the Nicest Daughter I Ever Had, She’s the Meanest Daughter I Ever Had


Related Content from And There Came a Day:


Here’s the story… when Sous Chef was a little girl, I used to make her cry. I guess you could say I intentionally made her cry if you understand “intention” to mean doing something that you know will cause a specific result. I would tell her how great a daughter she was, and then how terrible a daughter she was like this:

“You’re the nicest daughter I ever had; you’re the meanest daughter I ever had.”

“You’re the smartest daughter I ever had; you’re the least smart daughter I ever had.”

“You’re prettiest daughter I ever had; you’re the ugliest daughter I ever had.”

But, here are the facts:

She’s the nicest daughter of any family I know.

She’s the smartest daughter I could ever hope to have.

She’s amazingly beautiful (see below).

And she’s leaving home… it’s coming. Each passing day leads inexorably to one place: a house without Sous Chef. Today is just another sign post on the journey. It’s Sous Chef’s 17th birthday and I hope it’s a great one.

I love you, Sous Chef and wish I was in town with you today. Happy, happy, happy birthday!

Kateri Caroline Jeff Homecoming 2015

Kateri and Indy

Kateri Paddle Boat

Kateri Bronco Game

Kateri and Matthew

Kateri Six

Kateri Baby

2 Comments

Filed under Birthday, Family, Sous Chef

2 responses to “She’s the Nicest Daughter I Ever Had, She’s the Meanest Daughter I Ever Had

  1. Pingback: Yesterday, Sous Chef Walked Onto A New Road | And There Came a Day...

  2. Pingback: Off to College (3 in 5 Daze) Part I: Sous Chef | And There Came a Day...

Leave a Reply

