And There Came The 2017 Oscars… Best Picture


Related Content from And There Came A Day


oscars-2017

The Academy Awards Ceremony is Sunday, February 26.

Leading up to the event, And There Came A Day presents a predictions for the major categories.

BEST PICTURE

 

best-picture-2017

NOMINEES

  • Arrival
  • Fences
  • Hacksaw Ridge
  • Hell or High Water
  • Hidden Figures
  • La La Land
  • Lion
  • Manchester by the Sea
  • Moonlight

 

WHO WILL WIN

La La Land

I really loved La La Land. I loved it a lot. Saw it 3 times. Own the soundtrack. The movie made a terrific impression on me. It’s sweet, sad and smart. It’s wonderfully acted, beautifully directed and uplifting. I think.

It lifted me up.

The Academy tends to love movies like this. La La Land is a Hollywood tale and it’s a musical. It’s a tribute to old fashioned movies from its widescreen opening to its fanciful ending. It should clean up Sunday night, perhaps even tying a record for the number of Oscars it takes.

I think it’s a Best Picture lock.

WHO I WOULD LIKE TO SEE WIN

Hell or High Water

Hell or High Water was my favorite movie of the year. It was small and unpretentious, wonderfully acted, tautly directed, funny and powerful. Jeff Bridges was terrific but so were Chris Pine and Ben Foster. Pine, in particular, deserves more recognition for the actor he is becoming. I would be very pleased if this movie took home the Oscar.

It won’t but I would be pleased!

Leave a comment

Filed under Academy Awards, Movies

Leave a Reply

