Daily Archives: May 6, 2017

Unforgettable – A Movie Review


Related Content from And There Came A Day



unforgettable
Sometimes a brief review has to be okay because if I write too long about this one, I may be cruel. I will certainly make the obvious play on words the title Unforgettable begs for.

I am in favor of more women directing more major releases, but I think Denise Di Novi deserved better than this.

Rosario Dawson is good. I like her. She is an excellent actress and fun to watch. She is a lot better than this material.

Katherine Heigl is … not great. I have never liked her much. However, Unforgettable was a good choice for her. She handled the psycho villain role admirably.

There were other people in the movie, too. I am sure there were. They did not make much of an impression.

Unforgettable wants to be a thriller in the Fatal Attraction mode. It is not. It wants to be clever. It does not succeed. It wants to engage. If fails. And, unfortunately, it does not even fail spectacularly.

The film features terrific lapses in logic, unexplained revelations, dangling subplots and a truly foolish cliffhanger. Did someone think there might be an Unforgettable 2?

This major release played more like a television movie-of-the-week and that is a shame. We could use more films directed and written by women feature women in lead roles.

We could use better films featuring women, far better than … wait, what was this movie called?

UNFORGETTABLE receives ONE FAKE FACEBOOK PROFILE out of a possible FIVE.

1 Comment

Filed under Movie Review, Movies