The Best Sequential Art I Read Last Week: May 9 – 14, 2018


Related Content from And There Came A Day:


I am a comic book collector and happy to be one. I might say “proud” if I hadn’t, over a year ago, switched to reading digital as opposed to print comics. I feel a bit robbed of the tactile sensations of the hobby – of the turn of the page, the sneaking look to the panel a page over, the bagging and shorting and stacking and filing. Though I read my comics in a different medium than I used to, I still treat each Wednesday (comic book delivery day to specialty shops around the country) as different from the other days of the week. I subscribe and now, rather than go to the comic store to be handed the books pulled for my “Hold Slot,” I click a button on my iPad and watch them download.

Then I read them.

Rare is the week that I don’t read them all between Wednesdays and some weeks I have, well… let’s just say more comic books in my digital downloads than a grown man should. Comic book legend Will Eisner (creator of The Spirit) is one of the most influential men even to put pencil to drawing board in the pursuit of making comics. So influential was he that the industry awards (think the Oscars or the Emmys or the Grammys) are named The Eisner Awards. He called comic books “sequential art,” perhaps because he became embarrassed by his profession when he had to admit what he did for a living. This is my weekly reaction to the comics I read.

Comics I Read Last Week:

The best comic I read last week was No Justice #1.

 

Comics

Writers: Scott Snyder, Joshua Williamson, James Tynion IV

Artist: Francis Manapul

Spinning out of the events of DC Metal comes No Justice, a weekly mini series that itself will launch a new iteration of Justice League. This is a cosmic, spare-faring, high stakes story that promises to change the DC Universe forever. Those kinds of claims are made frequently in comics, but this book seems to want to deliver and writers Snyder, Williamson and Tynion IV may well be the men to do it.

This is a book that features the genesis of four different Justice League teams facing off against all-powerful, cosmic antagonists. The teams were assembled by none other than Superman villain Brainiac and each is designed for specific and unknown reasons.

Oh, and they contain supervillains as well.

Great stuff!

The art by Manapul is not put to his usual creative brilliance and he seems to be working to someone else’s strictures and script, but any Manapul is good Manapul and the book looks great.

This is the start of something big.

Leave a comment

Filed under Comic Book Pick of the Week, Comic Book Review, Comic Books, DC Comics, Justice League, Marvel Comics, Weekly Comic Book Review

Leave a comment